5 Things I’m Loving This Week (+ my brand-new live show on Periscope!)

5 Things I'm Loving This Week

I had this post halfway written on Saturday night and then, when we came back to the hotel from my speaking engagement in San Diego, I was so plain tired that I went to bed before I got it finished and posted. :)

But here are 5 things I loved last week:

1. Socks for Just $0.33 at Dollar Tree

Dollar Tree had 3-packs of socks for just $1 per pack! All of my kids needed socks, so it was a sock deal SCORE! They weren’t the highest quality socks ever, but at $0.33 per pair, I can’t complain — especially since they usually mostly wear socks for play and sports anyway.

5 Things I'm Loving This Week

2. West Wing

I rarely watch TV (unless it’s politics or the Olympics or sports with my guys), but I do love me a good movie or show. So, my husband and I had been trying to find a show that we both could get into and enjoy… but that’s hard because we’re so picky.

We like depth and character development. We don’t like fluffy fluff. We’re not into cheesy drama stuff. And we’re super picky about what we watch.

So yeah, finding a good show is pretty near impossible. But Jesse suggested maybe we try West Wing since we’re both political junkies.

The first season was slow, but we loved the character development. We’re now in season two and loving it more and more all the time.

It’s a fun way for us to hang out together and have an at-home “Movie Date” after our kids go to bed.

5 Things I'm Loving This Week

3. Periscope

Okay, so the truth is that I poo-poo’d Periscope for a few months. It just seemed kind of pointless to me as all I saw were people posting videos of their backyard or “here’s a video of the rain outside” or “see this video of the beach at the resort I’m at”.

I just wasn’t seeing the value in this new social media platform and never thought I’d do anything with it.  However, I’ve been listening to Chalene Johnson’s podcasts recently and she kept recommending it over and over again.

She convinced me to give it another look, and I’m so glad that I did. I discovered some bloggers and business professionals who were sharing some pretty cool and inspiring scopes.

The wheels started turning in my head. I kept watching scopes, kept investigating what was working for people, and started to consider if I should jump into the fray.

It took me two weeks of research, watching many scopes, talking to numerous people, and brainstorming with my husband and team, but I jumped in with both feet this morning and recorded my first ever Periscope this morning… and people actually showed up and participated!! I am quickly falling in love with Periscope and am enjoying tuning into a few quick broadcasts each day, too.

Psst! My New Morning Motivation Periscope Show!

I’m planning to do a short Morning Motivation video every weekday morning around 6:30 to 7 a.m. CT. on Periscope. You can tune in live and ask questions/participate with other readers in the comments. Or, you can watch the replay any time over the next 24 hours.

{If you’re not on Periscope yet, you can search for the app, download it, and then search for me (@MoneySavingMom) and follow me. You can choose to be notified every time I go live so that you can jump on and join in.}

Also you don’t need to do anything on Periscope or keep up another social media network. Just tune in or watch the replays. That’s one reason I love Periscope — because it’s simple and straightforward for people and doesn’t require any participation, unless you choose to participate. Best of all, there’s almost nothing to learn in order to be able to tune in — unlike social media networks like Facebook or Twitter!

4. This Article on How to Help When Someone Is In Need

This was an amazing article. Such a great reminder!

LOVE DOES things. Love doesn’t just think about doing things. Love actually does things.

Read the rest of the article here.

5 Things I'm Loving This Week

5. Aldi Flowers

I’m such a fan of Aldi flowers. When we needed to buy some flowers for the filming at our house last week, Jesse picked up four bouquets for just $4 each! So we got all of these flowers pictured for $16 total!

What are YOU loving right now?

<!–

–>

Leave a Reply

