Stop Feeling Guilty About Being An Introvert

Stop Feeling Guilty About Being an Introvert

I love my family, oh yes I do. But as an introvert, my souls craves some quiet in each day… A time to collect my thoughts, to plan out the day, to breathe, to count my blessings, and to have my soul fed with the life-giving words from God’s Word. I’m a better wife and mom when I make this quiet a priority.

It might mean getting out of bed a little bit earlier than I feel like some mornings, but it is so worth it! Even just 10 or 15 minutes of quiet can make all the difference in my attitude and peace as I face each day.

For the longest time, however, I felt badly that I needed quiet. That I couldn’t just go-go-go and not need to recharge.

I love people, don’t get me wrong, but after about 3-4 hours, I crave a little quiet. I wondered what was wrong with me that I just didn’t want to be with people all of the time. I wondered why I felt so drained after being with people for an extended period of time.

Stop Feeling Guilty About Being an Introvert

I kept wondering why I felt such a need for alone time to refuel my tank often. I wanted to be more outgoing and energetic. I thought I was supposed to love being around people constantly.

But then, I took the Meyers-Briggs test, and that changed everything! I discovered that my personality type is INTJ. Part of that means that I’m an Introvert!

I’m a high introvert, according to the test, which means I don’t want to seclude myself in a cave, but it does mean that I refuel by quiet. That being with people, people, people and never having a break to recharge my tank will make me feel stressed and even grouchy.

Taking the Meyers-Briggs test was life-changing for me. Not only did it help me understand myself better, but it’s helped me relate better to other people — especially when I understand their personality type. Most of all, it’s helped me to stop feeling guilty about being an Introvert and instead embrace this important part of who I am.

Stop Feeling Guilty About Being an Introvert

I have learned that I can’t keep going when I am “peopled out” and I have to give myself permission to be an Introvert and have quiet.

Why am I sharing this? Because I know that many of you can probably relate to this, and I want to encourage you to make it a priority to take time for yourself. If you are an Introvert, you will be a better wife, mom, co-worker, friend, or whatever hats you wear when you take time to fill up yourself with what you need.

I think it’s also incredibly important to understand the difference between Introverts and Extroverts, so that in relationships we learn how to relate to one another. It helps us understand that certain attributes are just personality differences, and not something we should be offended, hurt, or upset by.

Are you an Extrovert or an Introvert? In what ways have you learned to embrace this part of your personality? And how has knowing this helped you relate to others?

P.S. I found this article so fascinating: 23 Signs You’re Secretly An Introvert. 22 out of the 23 are spot-on for me!

Leave a Reply

