My Completely Honest Experience With Blue Apron

My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

We recently had the opportunity to try out Blue Apron – a subscription service that ships farm-fresh ingredients right to your doorstep, in exactly the right proportions so you can make home-cooked dinners for your family.

Blue Apron’s goal is to make it easy for you to create delicious, nutritional recipes at home. I’ve heard a lot about this service and have always been curious about it and whether it would be a good fit for our family or not.My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

My COmpletely Honest Review of Blue Apron

I was so excited to get to open the box and see what they sent us! The ingredients were very, very fresh. The ingredients were delivered in a refrigerated box and I was impressed with how fresh they were for being sent by UPS!

One of the drawbacks I immediately noticed when I opened the box, though, was that there was a LOT of packaging. Each food item was packaged securely. There was extra packaging and ice in the box itself.

I was honestly surprised about how much packaging there was and, even though there was no food waste, there was a lot of packaging waste, in my opinion. Gratefully, however, they do offer a a recycling program now and you can return your packaging for free to Blue Apron via USPS. This made me feel better about all of the packaging!

My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

They sent us the ingredients to make two different recipes: Panko-Crusted Chicken with Pea Tip Salad & Pink Lemon and Honey-Garlic Cod with Sautéed Bok Choy & Coconut Rice.

I loved that they allowed you some choice in what kinds of recipes you would and wouldn’t like (you could choose not to have fish or shellfish, etc.) and I also loved that the recipes and ingredients they sent us were for recipes that were outside our usual fare. Some of the ingredients were even for things we had never even bought or tried before!

My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

I loved that there isn’t wasted food with the Blue Apron recipes. They send you the exact amount of everything you need to make the recipe – so you don’t end up throwing out the extra food because you don’t have another recipe that calls for that ingredient before it goes bad!

Blue Apron offers a large selection of different recipes – all that are between 500 and 800 calories each. They are always adding new recipes to their line-up and do not repeat any of the same recipes for at least a year.

My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

Jesse does a lot of the cooking around our house and he loves trying new recipes, so he was really excited to get to make the Blue Apron meals. He had fun experimenting with some of the new ingredients and said that he thought the recipes were really easy to make and follow.

They say that all of the recipes can be made in 40 minutes or less. I think that’s about how long it took him, so it seems like the estimation is right on.

My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

Blue Apron offers two types of plans: The 2-person plan and the Family Plan. You can see examples of some of the different recipes they’ve offered in the past here.

I loved that you can choose what day they will deliver your box of food, too. This guarantees that it will be on a day when it’s convenient for you.

My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

Personally, I thought the prices were really expensive – especially if you usually cook from scratch and make simple meals like we do.

However, if you love to buy expensive and unique ingredients or you typically go out to dinner multiple times per week, it’s very possible you could save money and eat more healthfully by using Blue Apron. Plus, it could also save you time and effort when it comes to grocery shopping and meal-planning.

My Completely Honest Review of Blue Apron

Would you like to try out Blue Apron?

The first 50 readers to sign up through this link will get two free meals with their first Blue Apron order. Just click here to sign up!

By the way, there’s no long-term commitment once you sign up for Blue Apron. You can cancel your subscription or skip weeks at any time.

Have you tried Blue Apron before? If so, I’d love to hear what you thought of it!

(This post is underwritten by Blue Apron. Read our disclosure policy here.)

Leave a Reply

